Wisconsin Badgers

Country United States United States
City Madison, Wisconsin
Founded 1898

The official team representing the University of Wisconsin at the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) is the Wisconsin Badgers. The team is currently a part of the Big Ten Conference, a United States’ oldest Division I college athletic conference. The home ground of the Badgers is located at the Kohl Center in Wisconsin.

With its first team founded in 1898, the Badgers began their journey in the world of basketball under their first coach, Dr. James C. Elsom. During its early years, Christian Steinmetz was honored as an All-American thus becoming the first player from Wisconsin to have achieved this feat. The team won their first Big Ten Championship in 1906-07 under the coaching of Emmett Angell and was able to repeat the heroic effort the next year.

In 1911, Walter Meanwell was appointed as the new head coach for the Badgers. The team had an undefeated season with record 15-0 stats under their newest coach. His tenure saw the team grab the Big Ten Championship four seasons in a row from 1912 to 1916 and then again in 1921, 1923, 1924 and 1929. George Levis and Harold “Bud” Foster won All-American status in 1916 and 1930 respectively while playing for Wisconsin.

The current coach of the Badgers, Bo Ryan joined the team in 2001-02 season and led the team to a Big Ten Conference win in the same season. In the next season, the Badgers had an utter washout at the Big Ten Conference. The team beat Minnesota at their home ground and clinched the title in the final few seconds. Last season, in 2007-08, the Badgers again emerged victorious at the Big Ten championships, winning both the conference tournament Big Ten regular season. NCAA has ranked the Wisconsin Badgers number 3 seed.

Major Achievements

Won the Helms National Championships 3 times in 1911-12, 1913-14 and 1915-126.

Were the NCAA champions in the year 1940-41.

Won the Big Ten Championships 3 times in 2001-02, 2002-03 and 2007-08 and the Big Ten Tournament Championships twice in 2003-04 and 2007-08.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Bet Play-Money for Fun