The Miami Heat is a professional basketball team playing under the National Basketball Association (NBA). They are the members of the Southeast division of the Eastern conference. The team was founded in the year 1987 but played their first game in 1988. The team is based in Miami, Florida, United States. Currently the owner of the team is Micky Arison and Erik Spoelstra is the head coach. Miami Heat along with three other teams the Charlotte Hornets, Minnesota Timberwolves and the Orlando Magic debuted in the 1989-90 season. Ronny Rothstein was the first head coach of the team.

The Heat started off the season by losing its first 17 games, an NBA record. At the end of the season the team finished with 15-67 win-loss record. In the 1997-98 season the team was successful to achieve their second Atlantic division title.

Country United States United States
City Miami, Florida
Founded 1988
Ground FTX Arena
Coach Erik Spoelstra
National Basketball Association

In the year 2004 the Heat acquired superstar center Shaquille O’Neal on July 14, in a historic trade with the Los Angeles Lakers in which Miami traded Lamar Odom, Caron Butler and Brian Grant to the west. Dwyane Wade and O’Neal worked well as a pair and each solidified their position as NBA elites with both averaging over 20 points per game. The season also reunited several former club members. Ron Rothstein, the Heat’s inaugural head coach, became an assistant coach and both Steve Smith and Alonzo Mourning rejoined the team to play a important role in supporting the team.

They finished the season with a 59-23 record. It was Heat’s second best record in franchise history. With the likes O’Neal the team was seeded first at the playoffs of the Eastern Conference. They played against the Detroit pistons in the finals where they lost in a decider in game 7.

In 2006 the Miami Heat defeated the defending champions Detroit Pistons and went on to play the Dallas Mavericks in the NBA finals. In the first two games played in Dallas the Mavericks outplayed the Heat. In the third game in the last six minutes of the fourth quarter the heat had to face a 13 point gap and the condition looked worse. Just when it seemed that the Mavericks would take a 3-0 lead in the series the Heat led by Dwyane Wade finished the third game at a score of 98-96. After this game Wade did not look back and the Heat made an unbelievable comeback triumph to save the series. In the fourth game also the Heat was able to defeat the Mavericks by a team effort. In the fifth game the Heat displayed their capacity to play under pressure and this game went to overtime. Wade showed an excellent display of 43 points which was inclusive of the clutch overtime free throws and the game tying basket.

The Heat enjoyed their most successful period during the 2010s, winning five divisional titles and two championships in 2012 and 2013 with the likes of LeBron James, Chris Bosh and Wade in their line-up.

Known players like Shaquille O’Neal, Shawn Marion, Marcus Bank, James, Bosh and Wade have all been a part of the team.

Major achievements

  • 15 Division titles
  • 6 conference title (2006, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2020)
  • 3 NBA championship title (2006, 2012, 2013)

Team Roster

Name Position
Bam Adebayo United States power forward
Jimmy Butler III United States small forward
Dewayne Dedmon United States center
Udonis Haslem United States power forward
Tyler Herro United States shooting guard
Kyle Lowry United States point guard
Markieff Morris United States power forward
Victor Oladipo United States shooting guard
Duncan Robinson United States shooting guard
Max Strus United States shooting guard