Atlanta Hawks

Country United States United States
City Atlanta, Georgia
Founded 1946
Ground State Farm Arena
Coach Nate McMillan
National Basketball Association

The Atlanta Hawks is an American based professional basketball team situated in the city of Atlanta. The team plays under the southeast division of the Eastern Conference of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The team franchise was established in 1946. The franchise was well known by the name of Milwaukee Hawks at that time. The main relocation of the team took place in 1968 at Atlanta. The team is owned in partnership with different members however currently Michael Gearon in the chief incharge of the team.

The team has won only one league championship in the year 1958. The hawks defeated the Boston Celtics in the NBA finals after losing to them every game in the past. This was the first victory of the Hawks over the Celtics.

The Hawks has always been one of the premier teams in the NBA. The 1960 season saw the Hawks reach the NBA finals yet again but went down to the Boston Celtics in a fierce seven game series. The Hawks once again repeated their success and gained entry in the NBA finals where yet once again lost to the Boston Celtics in a 5 game thriller.

Several famous players from the Hawks like Paul Silas, Cliff Hagan, Moses Malone, Dominique Wilkins and Pete Maravich have found their name in the Basketball Hall of Famers. Currently the team is being coached under the head coach Mike Woodson. The team plays their home games at the Philips Arena. The arena can host a population of 18,729 people per game. It also hosted NBA All-Star Game in 2003. In the year 2007-2008 the team changed their uniform color to navy blue. Famous players like Mike Bibby, Claxton speedy and Williams Marvin are at present the part of the team with Johnson Joe leading the team as the captain.

The season 2007-2008 began with a bang with 101-94 victory over the Dallas Mavericks. The team had not seen a victory at the opening game since 1998. In February 2008 hawks made some changes to their team. Mike Bibby was brought in from Sacramento kings. The Hawks won their first playoff berth from the 1998-1999 seasons.

The Hawks, led with star Trae Young, went all the way to the 2021 Conference Finals.

Major achievements of the team:

  • 1 NBA League Championship (1958)
  • 12 Division titles

Team Roster

Name Position
Bogdan Bogdanovic Serbia shooting guard
Clint Capel Switzerland center
Clint Capela Switzerland center
John Collins United States power forward
Sharife Cooper United States point guard
AJ Griffin United States small forward
De'Andre Hunter United States small forward
Jalen Johnson United States small forward
Timothe Luwawu-Carrot United States shooting guard
Tyrese Martin United States shooting guard

Bet Play-Money for Fun