Detroit Pistons is a professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association. They also used to play in the now-defunct National Basketball League where they won two NBL Championships. In the NBA, they have also won two NBA Championships, most recently in 2004.

Team Profile

The Detroit Pistons, also known simply as Detroit or the Pistons, were established in 1937. They play in the National Basketball Association in the Eastern Conference and the Central Division.

Their current home arena is the Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan. Their team colors are royal blue, red, chrome, black, and white. They are affiliated with the Motor City Cruise in the NBA G League.

As of 2024, the team’s Head Coach is Monty Williams.


The Pistons originally started as a semi-professional team from 1937 to 1941 before joining the NBL from 1941 to 1948. At that time, they were known as the Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons. While in the NBL, they won in 1944 and 1945 NBL Championships.

Country United States United States
City Detroit, Michigan
Founded 1941
Ground Little Caesars Arena
Nickname Pistons
Coach Monty Williams

The team is owned by Tom Gores, the General Manager is Troy Weaver, and the Team President is Ed Stefanski.

From 1948 to 1957, they played in the combined BAA and NBA. In 1957, they moved to Detroit and became known as the Detroit Pistons, exclusively playing in the NBA.

In 1989, they won their first NBA Championship, beating the Los Angeles Lakers for the title. A year later, in 1990, they secured a back-to-back win, this time defeating the Portland Trail Blazers. The team was coached by Chuck Daly for both wins.

Their next win came 14 years later in 2004, beating the Lakers a second time. They were coached by Larry Brown at the time of the win. Chauncey Billups was named the NBA Finals MVP that year.

In addition to their championship wins, the Pistons also have 5 Conference Titles and 15 Division titles – 4 of those in the NBL.

As of the early 2020s, the Pistons are amidst a losing streak. They started the 2023-2024 season, by losing 28 games in a row from October 30 to December 30. In March 2024, they were eliminated from the season’s playoffs. This was the fifth season in a row this has happened to the team.

Notable Players

In addition to Billups, some of the more notable players who have signed with the Pistons include Dennis Rodman who was named NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 1990 and 1991 while with the team.

Isiah Thomas also used to play for the Pistons and was the 1990 NBA Finals MVP. He was hugely instrumental in the team winning the championship that year.

Another influential Pistons player was Grant Hill who joined the team in the 1993-1994 season. Other notable players from the Pistons include Joe Dumars, Ben Wallace, and Vinnie Johnson.

In addition to Thomas and Billups, Dumars was also named the NBA Finals MVP, this time for the 1989 Championship.

Major Achievements

  • 2 NBL Championships
  • 3 NBA Championships
  • 5 Conference Titles
  • 15 Division Titles

Detroit Pistons FAQ