Philadelphia 76ers

Sport Basketball
Country United States United States
Home town Philadelphia
Founding year 1939
Leagues National Basketball Association

The Philadelphia 76ers which is based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania is a professional basketball team that plays in the National Basketball Association. The 76ers play in the Eastern conference of the Atlantic division. The team was founded in the year 1946 but joined the NBA in 1949. Presently the team is owned by Comcast-Spectacor and Maurice Cheeks is the head coach. Black, Red, Gold, Silver, Blue, and White are the official colors of the team.

In 1949 seven National Basketball League teams (out of which the Nationals was one team) combined with the Basketball Association of America and the National Basketball Association was formed. In 1955 the NBA championship was won by the Nationals with Dolph Schayes as the skipper.

During the 1964-65 season the legendary Wilt Chamberlain left the Warriors and joined the 76ers. In his first full year with the 76ers the eight year reign of the Boston Celtics as the regular season champions of the Eastern division was ended by the 76ers. In the Eastern Conference finals the Celtics were pushed to seven games by the 76ers. In the seventh game of the 76ers went down to the Celtics.

In 1966-67 season had a dream start with a record of 46-4. At the end of the season they finished with a 68-13 record, which at that time was the best record in league history. The Sixers had reached the Eastern conference finals. One this occasion they beat the Celtics in 5 games. In this series in the fifth game the 76ers went to win the NBA Finals. In 1966-67 season during the 35th anniversary celebration of the NBA the 76ers were declared as the best team in the history of the league.

In the 1982-83 season the Sixers once again played a dominant role in the playoffs. They won 65 games in the regular season which is till the second most winning year in franchise history. Malone was named League MVP in that season. The Sixers went on to win their third NBA championship and second in Philadelphia by sweeping the Lakers in four games.

The 76ers play all their home game in the Wachovia Center Arena in Philadelphia. The arena has a maximum capacity of 21,600. Many famous players like Charles Barkley, Al Acervi, Wilt Chamberlain and Moses Malone were amongst the few who found their name in the Hall of Famers.

In the 2007-08 season the Sixers managed to win only 40 games but still made their way to the playoffs. They lost in the first round itself to the Detroit Pistons.

Major achievements

11 Division titles – 5 Conference titles – 3 NBA championships (1954, 1966, 1982)

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

No favourites for wide open 2019-20 NBA season

No favourites for wide open 2019-20 NBA season

The new NBA season started on Tuesday night with reigning champions Toronto and title contenders Los Angeles Clippers recording victories ahead of an unpredictable season.There’s no clear favourite for the 2019-20 NBA season, bucking the recent trend given the Golden State Warriors domination.The Los Angeles Clippers and Los Angeles Lakers are amon... Continue reading

The Reason Why Kevin Durant Signed With the Nets

The Reason Why Kevin Durant Signed With the Nets

With all the player movement coming off from free agency season, people simply want to know the reason why Kevin Durant chose to go with the Brooklyn Nets.Dur Continue reading

NBA Power Rankings: Who Are At The Top?

NBA Power Rankings: Who Are At The Top?

After the frenzy during free agency season, many power players have seen movement to other teams Continue reading

Toronto Raptors Wins Game 7 with Buzzer Beater

Toronto Raptors Wins Game 7 with Buzzer Beater

As the clock ticked to zero and the ball left Kawhi Leonard’s hands to make that one final shot to bring them to victory, the stadium was filled with a roar from people shouting for joy. The Toronto Raptors advances to the Easter conference finals after winning game 7 against the Philadelphia 76ers.Toronto Raptors Makes NBA HistoryEverybody could f... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Calvin Booth center
Brandon Kyle Bowman small forward

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Philly 1
Sixers Game 2