New York Knicks

Sport Basketball
Country United States United States
Home town New York
Founding year 1946
Leagues National Basketball Association

The New York Knicks are a professional basketball team playing under the National Basketball Association (NBA). The team plays in the Atlantic division of the Eastern conference. The New York Knicks are also known by the name of New York Knickerbockers. The Knicks was founded in the year 1946. James Dolan is the current owner of the team. The team is presently training under the head coach Mike D’Antoni. Blue, Orange, White and Black are the official colors of the team. The Knicks are one of the most valuable basketball franchises in the United States.

The Knicks are one of only two teams of the original National Basketball Association still located in its original city. The knicks first game was played on November 1, 1946 aginst the Toronto Huskies where the Knicks won by a score of 68-66. Neil Cohalan was the first coach of the Knicks. During the first decade of the NBA’s existence, the Knickerbockers made the NBA Finals in three straight years.

In 1969-70 season the Knicks started the season with 18 straight consecutive wins which was a record in the teams franchise history. They ended the season with a 60-22 record and won the Eastern conference finals and for the very first time made it to the NBA finals. In the NBA finals the Knicks had to confront the Los Angeles Lakers. In the 7th and decider game for the championship the Knicks had lost their captain and of the pillar of the team, [Willis Reed] due to injury. Despite the injury Reed decide to play the remaining part of the game. Reed was not playing at full strength however was able to inspire the team with his play and the team won the match with a score of 113-99 and in this way won the first championship.

The 1973-74 season was also excellent for the team as it was successful in reaching the Eastern Conference finals during which they were defeated by the Celtics. At the end of this season Reed declared that he would retire. Although going out in the Eastern conference finals to the Celtics, the Knicks had made it to the NBA finals once again. The Knicks went on to win their second NBA title this season.

The Madison Square Garden is the place where the Knicks play all their home games. It has a maximum capacity of 19,763. Many famous players from the New York Knicks like Walt Bellamy, Bill Bradley, Dave DeBusschere, Patrick Ewing, Walt Frazier, Harry Gallatin, Tom Gola, Jerry Lucas, Dick McGuire, Earl Monroe and Willis Reed have found their name in the Hall of Famers.

The 2007-08 season was one of the worst season for the Knicks. The team won only 23 games at end of the season and did not make it to any of the playoffs.

Major achievements* 8 Division titles* 8 Conference titles* 2 NBA championships (1970, 1973)

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by support
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

NBA Free Agency, Day 1: Winners and Losers

NBA Free Agency, Day 1: Winners and Losers

The NBA free agency circus is off and running, and chaos ensues even on its opening hours Continue reading

Kevin Durant Declines Warriors Option, Billboards Going Up in Los Angeles

Kevin Durant Declines Warriors Option, Billboards Going Up in Los Angeles

Golden State Warriors’ Kevin Durant is now officially an unrestricted free agent. Th Continue reading

Basketball article sidebar

NBA Rookies To Watch This 2013 - 2014 NBA Season

The 2013-2014 NBA season already started. The basketball superstars, many of which are in new teams, will of course dominate the interest and all the flashlights from the media. However, there some rising stars that will also be interesting to watch and these are no others than the rookies. Let’s break down which rookies are projected to make a dif... Continue reading

Pacers Coach: We Do Respect Heat

Pacers Coach: We Do Respect Heat

Indiana Pacers coach Frank Vogel has moved to stress his side’s respect for NBA champions and upcoming Conference Final opponents Miami Heat following comments he made over the weekend.After the Pacers progressed to the Conference Final with a 106-99 win over New York Knicks to complete a 4-2 triumph, Vogel had said that the Heat were just “the nex... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Amir I think Chris Paul should take it no pebrlom. He's the difference on that team whereas other teams can still win without there star player, Chris Paul is irreplaceable. I heard recently that Reggie Bush is quite irritated that he hasn't been able to come through for the city of New Orleans the way that Chris Paul has, but rumor has it he is angry about this and determined to change it this coming year. It is a who dat year ahead of us.

    over 5 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position
David Lee
Stephon Marbury
Nate Robinson
Danilo Gallinari
Chris Duhon
Wilson Chandler
Eddy Curry
Quentin Richardson
Jared Jeffries
Anthony Roberson

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Knicks are kicks 1