Maya Moore

Born Jun 11, 1989
Nationality United States United States
Nickname The Monster

Maya Moore Is a professional American basketball player in the WNBA. She is a two-time Olympic gold medalist, a four-time WNBA champion, and WNBA Most Valuable Player. Moore currently plays in the small forward position for the Minnesota Lynx.

She attended Collins Hill High School where she garnered several awards for her exceptional basketball skills. While attending the University of Connecticut, she helped the team win 150 games and lost only 4 games. She was enshrined in the Huskies of Honor even while she was still active as a player.

In 2011, she was selected as the first overall pick by the Minnesota Lynx. She was named as the Rookie of the Year and the Lynx went on to win the championship. Moore was instrumental in reaching the 2012 WNBA Finals. She became the first player in the history of the league to lead in both three-point shooting percentage and three-point field goals. The Lynx won the championship and she was named as the Finals MVP.

She set a new record by scoring 30 points or more in four consecutive games in 2014. In 2015, Moore re-signed with the Lynx and was also named the WNBA All-Star MVP. In 2016, she was named as one of the WNBA Top [email protected] and was the youngest among the awardees. She was named into the WNBA All-Star Game again in 2017 while the Lynx also went on to win the championship. Moore was voted again into the WNBA All-Star Game where she also won her third All-Star MVP award in 2018.

Career Accomplishments:

• Gold medalist, 2012 London Olympic Games• Gold medalist, 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games• Gold medalist, 2010 Czech Republic World Cup• Gold medalist, 2014 Turkey World Cup• 4-time WNBA champion (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017)• WNBA Finals MVP (2013)• WNBA MVP (2014)• 5-time WNBA All-Star (2011, 2013–2015, 2017–2018)• 3-time WNBA All-Star Game MVP (2015, 2017, 2018)• 5-time All-WNBA First Team (2013–2017)• 2-time All-WNBA Second Team (2012, 2018)• 2-time WNBA All-Defensive Second Team (2014, 2017)• WNBA steals leader (2018)• WNBA scoring leader (2014)• WNBA Rookie of the Year (2011)• WNBA All-Rookie Team (2011)• WNBA Top [email protected] (2016)• FIBA World Championship MVP (2014)• FIBA World Championship All-Star Five (2014)• 2-time EuroLeague Women champion (2012, 2018)• Liga Femenina champion (2012)• 3-time WCBA champion (2013–2015)• 2-time NCAA champion (2009–2010)• 4-time AP All-America First Team (2008-2011)• 3-time CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team (2009–2011)• 4-time WBCA Coaches’ All-America Team (2008–2011)• 4-time USBWA All-America Team (2008–2011)• 3-time Wade Trophy (2009–2011)• 2-time Naismith College Player of the Year (2009, 2011)• 2-time John R. Wooden Award (2009, 2011)• 2-time AP College Player of the Year (2009, 2011)• 2-time USBWA Women’s National Player of the Year(2009, 2011)• 2-time Honda Sports Award for basketball (2010, 2011)• 3-time Big East Player of the Year (2008, 2009, 2011)• 2-time Academic All-America of the Year (2010–2011)• All-sports Academic All-America of the Year (2011)• NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player (2010)• USBWA National Freshman of the Year (2008)

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image