Diana Taurasi

Team Phoenix Mercury Phoenix Mercury
Position Shooting Guard
Born Jun 11, 1982
Nationality United States United States
Nickname DT
Team History
Phoenix Mercury Phoenix Mercury 2004 - present

Diana Taurasi is an American professional basketball player in the WNBA. She is a four-time Olympic Gold medalist and a four-time World Championship Gold medalist. Taurasi is regarded as one of the top players in the WNBA today and her long list of awards includes being a three-time WNBA champion.

Taurasi was born on June 11, 1982 in Chino, California, to Mario and Liliana Taurasi. She has one sister, Jessika. She attended Don Lugo High School, where she received a host of awards including the 2000 Cheryl Miller Award, presented by the Los Angeles Times to the best player in Southern California, and the 2000 Naismith and Parade Magazine National High School Player of the Year.

Taurasi attended the University of Connecticut. She played for the Huskies under Coach Geno Auriemma. She led her team to three consecutive NCAA championships. She averaged 15.0 points, 4.3 rebounds and 4.5 assists per game in her collegiate career, and earned a host of accolades. Her teams compiled a record of 139 wins and 8 losses during her tenure.

Taurasi was the #1 overall pick in the 2004 WNBA Draft by the Phoenix Mercury. In 2007, Taurasi and the Phoenix Mercury won the WNBA championship for the first time. With this championship, Taurasi became just the sixth player ever to win an NCAA title, a WNBA title and an Olympic gold medal. (The others to achieve this are Ruth Riley, Sheryl Swoopes, Swin Cash, Kara Wolters, and Sue Bird.)

During her playing years in the WNBA, she reaped award after awards both in the USA and internationally. Taurasi played in Russian and Turkish leagues. She suffered from a hip injury in 2012 which made her miss the entire season.

In the 2014 to 2015 Season, she was ranked second in career points per games, 9th in career assists, and 5th in career points. The Phoenix Mercury became the Western Conference’s top seed and won the WNBA Finals.

During the 2016 NBA season, she became the WNBA leader in playoff career three-pointers made. Taurasi signed again with the Phoenix Mercury on May 2017. She became the first WNBA player to reach 7,000 points, 1,500 assists, and 1,500 rebounds. Taurasi also became the first player in the league’s history to reach 1,000 3-pointers.

Career Accomplishments

  • Gold medal, 2004 Athens Olympic Games
  • Gold medal, 2008 Beijing Olympic Games
  • Gold medal, 2012 London Olympic Games
  • Gold medal, 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games
  • Gold medal, 2010 Czech Republic World Championship
  • Gold medal, 2014 Turkey World Championship
  • Gold medal, 2018 Spain World Championship
  • Bronze medal, 2006 Brazil World Championship
  • 3-time WNBA champion (2007, 2009, 2014)
  • 2-time WNBA Finals MVP (2009, 2014)
  • WNBA MVP (2009)
  • 9-time WNBA All-Star (2005–2007, 2009, 2011, 2013–2014, 2017–2018)
  • 10-time All-WNBA First Team (2004, 2006–2011, 2013, 2014, 2018)
  • 3-time All-WNBA Second Team (2005, 2016, 2017)
  • WNBA’s Top 15 Players of All Time (2011)
  • WNBA Top [email protected] (2016)
  • WNBA Rookie of the Year (2004)
  • 5-time WNBA scoring champion (2006, 2008–2011)
  • WNBA assists leader (2014)
  • 6-time WNBA Peak Performer (2006, 2007, 2009–2011, 2014)
  • WNBA all-time scoring leader
  • 4-time USA Basketball Female Athlete of the Year(2006, 2010, 2012, 2016)
  • 2-time FIBA World Championship All-Star Five (2010, 2018)
  • 6-time Euroleague champion (2007–2010, 2013, 2016)
  • 7-time Russian National League champion (2007, 2008, 2013–2017)
  • 3-time Russian Cup winner (2013–2014, 2017)
  • 3-time Russian League Player of the Year (2007, 2008, 2009)
  • Turkish National League champion (2011)
  • Turkish Cup winner (2012)
  • 3-time NCAA champion (2002–2004)
  • NCAA Tournament MOP (2003, 2004)
  • Wade Trophy (2003)
  • Naismith Award (2003, 2004)
  • USBWA Women’s National Player of the Year (2003)
  • AP College Player of the Year (2003)
  • Nancy Lieberman Award (2003, 2004)
  • 2-time Big East Player of the Year (2003, 2004)

What's Your Take?

Reply to