The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the premier male professional basketball league in North America. Back then when it was founded in New York on June 1946, it was known as the Basketball Association of America (BAA). The league’s current name was not adopted after the BAA merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) in 1949.

30 teams compose the association, 29 of which come from the United States and 1 from Canada. The NBA is an active member of United States Basketball or the USAB. It is one of the four major sports leagues in the United States along with the MLB, NFL and NHL.

Sport Basketball
Country United States United States
Founded 1946
Teams 30
Teams promoted / relegated 0

David Stern stands as the current commissioner of the NBA. Notable teams in the Association’s history include the Boston Celtics which with 17 championships has the most championship wins. It is followed by the Los Angeles Lakers/Minneapolis with 17, the Philadelphia/San Francisco/Golden State Warriors with seven, the Chicago Bulls with six and the San Antonio Spurs with five.

The NBA teams are divided into two conferences (Eastern and Western) comprising 3 divisions. Each division is then further divided into 5 teams each. The Eastern Conference is divided into the Atlantic, Central and Southeast divisions while the Western Conference is divided into the Northwest, Pacific and Southwest divisions. The only Canadian team in the league, the Toronto Raptor, belongs to the Atlantic division of the Eastern Conference. The Boston Celtics also belong to the Atlantic division of the NBA.

The regular season of the NBA begins during the first week of November and ends around April. During the season, each team in the league plays 82 games, 41 home and 41 away. The regular season takes a pause during February to give a time for the NBA All Star Games. The season ends in April around the time that the year’s awards are handed out. These awards include the Sixth Man of the Year Award, Rookie of the Year Award, Coach of the Year Award and the aspired Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award.