The South Atlantic League was a minor league baseball league featuring clubs from New Jersey to the South Carolina-Georgia border along the United States’ Atlantic shoreline. It was a regular-season Class A league with teams consisting of participants during the first or second year. Since 1904 there have been numerous leagues called the South Atlantic League (SAL). The latest SAL was born in 1980, the Western Carolinas League, which was formed in 1963. All were coined as the “Sally League”.

The Sally League operates in the south-east of the US. The Class A league splits an entire season, with newly signed players, particularly late in the season, and rookie league players usually mixing. There have always been numerous South Atlantic Leagues in minor league baseball history, covering several breaks from 1904 to the present. The Sally ran as a class C League from 1904-1917 and then began again as a class C in 1919.

History of Sally League

The President of the League in the mid-1924 was William G. Bramham, who served until 1930. The Sally League was restarted as a class B, shut down in the war, and returned to the A-League in 1946. After the 1961 season, SAL had been promoted to AA in 1963. A year later, the name becomes Southern League. The AA Southern Association expired after the season of 1948. Augusta, GA was competing in 46 out of 51 operational seasons, Macon, GA is about 46, and SC was in 45 in Columbia. Any of the GA battled for at least 29 years for a comparatively healthy line-up.

The South Atlantic League’s name was taken back in 1980 to modify its identity by the Western Carolinas League. The leading figure in WCL/SAL for almost 60 years, from 1948 to 2007, was the League Founder and President John Henry Moss, who in 1948 founded the WCL as a young man and then led it into the new century. It was founded in 1960. At the end of the 2007 Sally League season, Moss, who holds his age secret, withdrew.

Today, the Sally League contains 14 teams, split into two seven club divisions. As a result of the pandemic, the beginning of 2020 has been delayed until it was finally scrapped on June 30. The redesign of the minor league system by the Major League Baseball forced significant revolutions at class A and high-A tiers in late 2020.