National League Division Series

National League Division Series St. Louis Cardinals

The National League Division Series or NLDS decide in Major League Baseball whether two National League teams are going to the National League series. The Division series consists of the three division champions plus a Wild Card team from two Best-in-Five Series.

After the season 1993, when Major League Baseball restructured each League in three divisions, the dividing series was permanently established. But the first regular play in 1995 was due to the cancelation of the 1994 playoffs. Early on, a split-season schedule forced the Montreal Expos to win three games in the Philadelphia Philip Eastern Division over two games. The Los Dodgers defeated Houston Astros three to two games in the Western Division because of the 1981 strike. The Cincinnati Reds were the team with the best record in the major leagues in every other half of the season. The St. Louis Cardinals, who finished with the NL’s second most excellent record, is disputed.

History of National League Division Series

Since 1998, the division leader with the highest winning percentage has been named a wild card team in one series, and two other division winners have been meeting in the other series. However, if the team from the wild card and the division champion with the best record come from the same division, the team from the wild card plays the second-best record with the division winner. In any case, the two champions of the series go on to the top seven NLCS. The wild card winner won the first round of 7 of the 11 years since the National League Division Series’s reorientation and development.

The Atlanta Braves, Houston Astros, and St. Louis Cardinals are the only teams that have met over twice since the National League Division Series. The Braves & Houston Cardinals were the winner of the first series three times and the next two. Both three series of cardinals prevailed over the fathers. The 1981 NLDS Los Angeles Dodgers remain the last NL team to lose the first 2 of the next three games to beat the Houston Astros. The NLDS is the first team to win the next three matches, and the Dodgers won the 1981 New York Yankees World Summit. Moreover, the Most Valuable Player of the Division Series is currently not awarded.

What's Your Take?

Reply to