The Chicago Cubs’ are a professional baseball team located in Chicago, Illinois. They belong to the Central Division of the National League. **Stadium**The Cubs have played their home games at Wrigley Field since 1916. **Nickname**The Cubs are often referred to by both fans and media as The North Siders because Wrigley Field is in Chicago’s North Side Lakeview community. The White Sox, in contrast, are called The Southsiders.**History**The Cubs are one of two Major League clubs based in Chicago, (the other being the American League Chicago White Sox). They are one of the two remaining charter members of the original National League (the other being the Atlanta Braves). **Record By Decade**‘1903-1909Frank Seelee guided the Cubs to two and a half winning seasons, before being replaced by Frank Chance midway through 1905. In 1906 and 1907, and 1908 and 1909, the Cubs won over a hundred games each season.

1910-1919Chance continued to coach the Cubs until 1912. He never had a losing season. In 1913, Johnny Evers took over the reins, for a single year, as did Hank O’Day and then Roger Bresnahan. Joe Tinker then took over for a single year. (Tinkers to Evers to Chance was a famous double play combination for the Cubs.) Fred Mitchell then became coach for the rest of the decade, from 1917-1919.

Country United States United States
City Chicago
Founded 1876
Major League Baseball
National League

1920-1929Mitchell’s final year as coach was in 1920, then he was replaced by Johnny Evers again - but only for half a season, before Bill Killefer stepped in, and coached for the rest of the 1921 season and up to the end of the 1925 season. Frank McCarthy then took over for the remaining five years of the decade.

1930-1939Joe McCarthy coached for only half of 1930, and then was replaced by Rogers Hornsby, who coached for the rest of 1930 and then for 1931 and half of 1932, before he was replaced by Charlie Grimm, who would coach until 1938. Gabby Hartnett took over for 1939.

1940-1949Hartnett’s last season for the Cubs was 1940, then he was replaced by Jimmie Wilson who coached until 1944. Charlie Grimm then took over and coached until halfway through the 1949 season, when he was replaced by Frankie Frisch.

1950-1959Frisch coached from 1951 to 1952, and then was replaced by Phil Cavarretta, who was replaced in 1954 by Stan Hack, who lasted until 1956. Then, Bob Scheffing took over for the rest of the decade.

1960-1969In 1960, Charlie Grimm returned to the Cubs, but lasted only half a season before being replaced by Lou Boudreau, who was replaced at the end of the year by a virtual revolving door of coaches. Stability came in 1963 with Bob Kennedy, who lasted for three years. In 1966, Leo Durocher got his chance, and after an initial losing season, guided the Cubs to three straight winning seasons.

1970-1979Durocher had winning seasons in 1970 and 1971, as well as 1972 when he was replaced midway through the season by Whitey Lockman, who lasted two and a half years. Then, Jim Marshall took over for two year in which the Cubs had the same record each year: 75-87. From 1977 to midway through 1979, Herman Franks coached the team.

1980-1989Joey Amalfitano had coached the Cubs for half of the 1979 season, and after first year coach Preston Gomez was let go halfway through the 1980 season, Joey Amalfitano was given another chance. He finished out 1980, and had the complete season of 1981, before being replaced by Lee Elia for two years. Then, Jim Frey coached for two years. 1986 and 87 had revolving doors for coaches. In 1988, Don Zimmer took the reins. In 1989, the Cubs were Division champions, behind the pitching of Greg Maddux.

1990-1999Despite the presence of Maddux, 1990 and 1991 were losing seasons for Zimmer, and Jim Lefebvre got his chance for two years. Tom Trebelhorn had a go in 1994, then Jim Riggleman took over for the rest of the decade.

2000-2008Don Baylor was in charge from 2000-2003, and then was replaced by Dusty Baker…who won a Division championship in his first year but was never able to repeat the success.

Lou Piniella took over the reins in 2007, and won the Division championship in his first season.

Team Roster

Name Position
Willson Contreras Venezuela