New York Yankees

Sport Baseball
Country United States United States
Home town New York
Founding year 1901
Leagues Major League Baseball,
American League
Website newyork.yan...

The *New York Yankees’ are a professional baseball team located in the borough of the Bronx, New York City, New York. They are a member of the Eastern Division of the American League. StadiumFrom 1923 to the present, the Yankees have played in Yankee Stadium. In 2009, they are scheduled to move into a new stadium, also to be called “Yankee Stadium”.NicknameWhen the New York Highlanders’ old stadium burned down, and they moved into the Bronx, their nickname no longer applied. Newspapers had frequently referred to them as the Yankees, and that became their new nickname, officially, in 1913.*History’The Yankees are one of the American League’s eight charter franchises. They were first founded in Baltimore, Maryland in 1901 as the Baltimore Orioles, moved to New York City in 1903, and were called various names including the New York Highlanders, before the name Yankees was definitely established in 1913.

By the mid 1910s, the team’s owners, Frank J. Farrell and William S. Devery, had become estranged and were both in dire need of money. At the start of 1915, they sold the team to Colonel Jacob Ruppert and Captain Tillinghast L’Hommedieu Huston. Ruppert inherited a brewery fortune, providing the Yankees with an owner who possessed deep pockets and a willingness to spend money to produce a winning team.

*Record By Decade1913-1919Frank Chance coached the Yankees for two years, each a losing season. The Bill Donovan took over, for three years. Only the middle year, 1916, was a winning season. Miller Huggins took over in 1918, and had one losing and then one winning season.1920-1929Miller Huggins coached the Yankees during this entire decade, leading them to three American League pennants as well as three World Series.1930-1939Bob Shawkey had a winning season in 1930, but was replaced by Joe McCarthy who coached the Yankees for the rest of the decade. He had no losing seasons, and won five World Series, with a little help from such players as Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig.1940-1949McCarthy coached from 1940 to 1946, with World Series wins in 1941 and 1943. Again, he had no losing seasons. In 1947, Bucky Harris took over for two years. Then, he was replaced by Casey Stengel for the rest of the decade.1950-1959Stengel coached for the entire decade, and with the help of such players as Joe DiMaggio, managed to win five World Series and two American League pennants.1960-1969Stengel’s final season as coach in 1960 was a winning one. Then, Ralph Houk took over for three years, then Yogi Berra for a single year, then Johnnie Kean for two years, then Ralph Houk took over again and coached for the remaining three years of the decade. Houk won two World Series, in 1961 and 162, but after that the team fell on tough times.1970-1979Ralph Houk continued to coach until 1973, then Bill Virdon took over for two years, and then Billy Martin took over for three years. Martin won two World Series with the Yankees, in 1977 and 1978.1980-1989Dick Howser coached for a single year, then Gene Michael, then Bob Lemon, then Billy Martin again, then Yogi Berra for two years. Lou Piniella took over for Berra, and lasted for two years, and then Billy Martin returned again. In 1999, it was Dallas Green and then Bucky Dent.1990-1999Bucky Dent coached for a year, then Stump Merrill for a year, then Buck Showalter for four years. Then…Joe Torre took over. Torre won World Series in 1996, 1998 and 1999.*2000-2008’Joe Torre continued to coach the Yankees until 2007, but did not win a World Series after 2000. His team was Division Champion many times, however, and in 2007 got to the World Series only to use.

Joe Girardi has been coach of the Yankees since 2008.

Latest Articles

Aaron Judge Hailed American League Rookie of the Year

Aaron Judge Hailed American League Rookie of the Year

Aaron Judge describes the feeling of receiving the honor of American League Rookie of the Year as a dream come true. This ma Continue reading

Should Baseball Provide More Protection For Its Fans?

Should Baseball Provide More Protection For Its Fans?

Hot on the heels of the baseball accident where a little girl was hit in the face with a foul ball by New York Yankees’ Todd Frazier, comes another accident at Citizens Bank Park on September 27.One minute, the lady was watching the game, and the next minute, a baseball was headed towards her, hitting her in the face. Her nose was split open all th... Continue reading

Baseball article sidebar

Mariano Rivera: When Class meets Dominance

Mariano Rivera: The Class Act of New YorkIn NASA’s history, they have put twelve Americans on the moon. In Continue reading

Giants To Face Detroit In World Series

Giants To Face Detroit In World Series

San Francisco Giants will face Detroit Tigers in the World Series after thrashing reigning premiers St Louis Cardinals 9-0 in the deciding playoff in California on Monday.The Giants had been down 3-1 in the best-of-seven series, but fought back to win the final three matches to book their spot in the World Series against American League winners Det... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Karima Hello Mijonju bought, I only have a Lomo LCA with a radonm eBay seller. He claimed that works the LCA, but if I get it everything will be fine, but I also notice when the lever is working fine and the shutter works well, but I notice the shutter will not open when the shutter button is pressed, and I see a band with some of the LCA into the camera. I suspect that some of the key to the problem could be .. Can u help me? with a tutorial vid? tq ~ ~VA:F [1.9.17_1161]please wait...VA:F [1.9.17_1161](from 0 votes)

    almost 7 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position
Ivan Rodriguez catcher
Wilson Betemit first base
Justin Christian left field
Brett Gardner left field
Alfredo Aceves pitcher
Chris Britton pitcher
Brian Bruney pitcher
Joba Chamberlain pitcher
Dan Giese pitcher
Sean Henn pitcher
Kei Igawa pitcher
Damaso Marte pitcher
Mike Mussina pitcher
Edwar Ramirez pitcher
David Robertson pitcher
Billy Traber pitcher
Jose Veras pitcher
Chien-Ming Wang pitcher
Bobby Abreu right field
Robinson Cano second base
Cody Ransom shortstop
Alex Rodriguez third base

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Can the Yankees win it all next season? 6
Light Purple/White hats? 8
Yankees: Horribly over-rated, or worth all the hype? 10
Four Players on 2007 Roster Named in Senator Mitchell's Report 9
Rivera, Abreu spread holiday cheer 6