Boston Red Sox

Country United States United States
City Boston
Founded 1901
Major League Baseball
American League

The Boston Red Sox are a major league baseball team located in Boston, Massachusetts. They play in the Eastern Division of the American League.


The name of the team originates from their iconic uniform feature - the red socks. They are often referred to as the BoSox, or in the past, the Crimson Hose, and the Olde Towne Team.


The Boston Red Sox play their home games at Fenway Park. The stadium opened in 1912, and is thus the oldest ballpark remaining in the league. From 1901 to 1910, they had played their games at Huntington Avenue Grounds.


The Boston Red Sox are one oof the American League’s original eight charter franchises, founded in Buffalo, New York in 1901. The team didn’t have an official nickname to begin with, but were typically called the Americans, until they adopted the Red Sox name in 1908.

The Red Sox were a successful team almost immediately, finishing second and third in their league in 1901 and 1902, before capturing their first pennant in 1903 and repeating in 1904.

In 1903, Boston participated in the first modern World Series, beating the favored Pittsburgh Pirates.

Those teams were led by manager and star third baseman Jimmy Collins and by pitcher Cy Young, whose 1901 to 1904 seasons rank among the best four-year runs ever.

The Red Sox continued to be a successful team, with such iconic players as Tris Speaker, Harry Hooper and Duffy Lewis …and Babe Ruth.

Then, on December 26, 1919, team owner Harry Frazee sold Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees. This started the “Curse of the Bambino”, and the Red Sox never won another World Series, until the curse was reversed in 2004.

Record By Decade

In their long existence, the Red Sox have won over 100 games only twice, in 1915 and 1946.


Their name changed from the Americans to the Red Sox, the BoSox went 75-79 in 1908, and 88-63 in 1909.


In this decade, the Red Sox had winning seasons in each one except 1919. They won the World series in 1912, 1915, 1916, and 1918. In 1919, Babe Ruth was sold to the New York Yankees, and the Curse of the Bambino began.


In this decade, the Red Sox had no winning seasons, and lost 100 games twice, in 1925 and 1926.


In the first half of this decade, the Red Sox had no winning seasons (and two seasons in which they lost over 100 games), but they turned it around in the second half, having winning records in 5 straight seasons.


Only 1943 and 1945 were losing seasons for the Red Sox in this decade.


1950 was the Red Sox best year during this decade, when they finished 34 games over .500. The rest of their winning seasons were by a handful of games only, and they had losing seasons in 1952, 1954, and 1959.


Only the last three years of this decade saw winning seasons by the Red Sox.


In the 70s, the Red Sox played excellent ball and had a winning season each year.


1983 and 1987 were losing years.


1992, 1993 and 1994 were losing seasons for the Sox, if just barely, as was 1997.


The Red Sox posted winning seasons in all 8 years this decade, and won the World Series in 2004 and 2007.

Show more less

Team Roster

Name Position
David Aardsma United States pitcher
Jeff Bailey United States first base
Rocco Baldelli United States center field
Jason Bay Canada left field
Josh Beckett United States
Michael Bowden United States pitcher
Craig Breslow United States pitcher
Clay Buchholz United States pitcher
Sean Casey United States
Kevin Cash United States catcher

Bet Play-Money for Fun