Indianapolis Indians

Country United States United States
City Indianapolis, Indiana
Founded 1902

Indianapolis Indians is a minor league baseball team based in Indianapolis. It is the International League, Triple-A affiliate of MLB’s Pittsburgh Pirates.

Indianapolis Indians remains the second-oldest minor league franchise in professional sports which was founded as an original member of the American Association in 1902.

The team has been affiliated with 8 teams since 1946 including Boston Braves, Cleveland Indians and Cincinnati Reds among others. Its current affiliation is with the Pittsburg Pirates which began in 2005 after almost 56 years since their first affiliation with the MLB side.

Indians’ mascot is called Rowdie which is a red bear that wears a number 00 jersey and a black Indians cap, and has a baseball as a nose.

Indianapolis Indians presently stand second in the Western Division with 46 wins and 50 losses.

Major Achievements

The team has won 7 Triple-A Championships to date including two Little World Series, two Junior World Series, two Triple-A Classic and a single Triple-A World Series.

The Indians have twice been the Governors’ Cup, the International League Champions out of the 3 times they played.

Also, they have won 8 American Association Championships of the 18 AA Championship Series they played.

Bet Play-Money for Fun