The *Seattle Mariners’ are an American professional baseball team located in Seattle, Washington. They are a member of the Western Division of the American League. StadiumThe Mariners have played at Safeco Field since July 1999. Prior to that time, they played from 1977 to 1999 in the Kingdome.NicknameThe sea has always had a special place in the heart of Seattle, a major port city, and so its not surprising that the name they chose for the baseball club was the “Mariners.” They are also called “the M’s”. Their mascot is the Mariner Moose.*History’The Seattle Mariners are an expansion franchise, and played their first season in 1977. It was not until fourteen years later, however, in 1991, that they had their first winning season - thanks in large part to the addition of Ken Griffey Jr. and pitcher Randy Johnson.

In 1995, they won their first division championship and defeated the New York Yankees in the American League Division Series. The game-winning hit in Game 5 clinched a series win for the Mariners, and has since become an iconic moment in team history. The Mariners share the record for most wins in a single season with 116, which they achieved in 2001.

Country United States United States
City Seattle, Washington
Founded 1977
Ground T-Mobile Park
Nickname Mariners, M's
Coach Scott Servais

Since 2001, however, they have not managed to build on that success, and 2008 in particular was a disappointing year, began with high hopes that quickly sank.

PlayersThe Mariners have had several star players. Their current star is Ichiro Suzuki, the first Japanese position player in the major leagues (earlier Japanese imports had all been pitchers). Other stars included Ken Griffey, Jr., Alex Rodriguez, Randy Johnson, and Edgar Martinez.

*Record By Decade1977-1979Darrell Johnson coached the team for its first three years. In its second year, it lost over a hundred games, with a record of 56-104.1980-1989Darrell Johnson was replaced after the 1980 season by Maury Wills, who was soon replaced by Rene Lachemann who lasted until 1983. Del Crandall came in for half a season, only to be replaced by Dick Crottier, who lasted for two and a half seasons before being replaced by Dick Williams. Jim Lefebre took over in 1989.1990-1999Jim Lefebre continued to coach until 1991. Although it was a winning season, he was replaced anyway, by Bill Plummer, who lasted only one season. Then, Lou Piniella became coach, from 1993 to 1999. During his tenure, the Mariners won their first divisin title, in 1995, and accomplished it again in 1997.*2000-2008’After the 2002 season, Piniella left the club and was replaced by Bob Melvin, who had one successful and then one disasterous year, before being replaced by Mike Hargrove, who coached for two and a half seasons before abruptly resigning in the middle of the 2007 season, to be replaced by first-time coach John McClaren, who proved his unfitness to coach over a season and a half. Midway through their very disappointing 2008 season, he was replaced by Jim Riggleman.