The *Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim’ are a professional baseball team based in Anaheim, California, a member of the Western Division of the American League. StadiumThe Angels have played at Angel Stadium of Anaheim since 1966.NicknameThe Angel’s original home was Los Angeles, and that’s where the name the Angels comes from. They have gone through quite a few name changes in their history, mostly in an effort to help market not the team - but the city of Anaheim in which it has based for decades. They are informally known as “the Halos,” because of the presence of a halo in most of the team’s logos over the years. *History’The Angels are an expansion franchise, founded in Los Angeles in 1961.

Then the Los Angeles Angels, the team played at Los Angeles’ Wrigley Field (not to be confused with Chicago’s stadium of the same name).

Country United States United States
City Anaheim, California
Founded 1961
Ground Angel Stadium
Nickname Angels, Halos
Coach Joe Maddon

When the Disney Company took control in 1997, it extensively renovated Angel Stadium on the condition that both the stadium’s name and the team’s name contain the word “Anaheim.” Disney was hoping to make Anaheim, the home of Disneyland, a tourist destination in itself.

In 2005, new owner Arte Moreno wanted to include “Los Angeles” in the team’s name, in order to better tap into the Los Angeles media market, the second largest in the country. In compliance with the terms of its lease with the city of Anaheim, the team changed its name to the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. The team usually refers to itself simply as the Angels in its home media market.

*Record By Decade1961-1969The coach during the Angels’ first nine years was Bill Rigney, and he had a tough job, as they would have two losing seasons for every one that they won.1970-1979Seven different coaches tried to right the ship in the 70s, but from 1971-1977 they had no winning seasons. Jim Fregosi took the helm in the latter part of the 1978 season, and had a 1979 season as well.1980-1989Fregosi had losing seasons in 80 and 81, and was replaced by Gene Mauch, who in 82 gave the team their first division title. Nevertheless he was replaced by John McNamara the next year. Mauch would return in 1985 for three seasons. After two winning seasons, he was let go after a losing season, and replaced by Cookie Rojas.1990-1999The 90s was another rough decade, as the Angels had only four winning seasons. Coaches were Doug Rader, than Buck Rodgers for three years, then Marcel Lacheman for two, then Terry Collins for the final three years of the decade.*2000-2008’Mike Soscia took over as coach of the Angels in 2000, and has been coach ever since. The team has had only two losing seasons, 2001 and 2003.

They won the World Series in 2002, and were Division Champions in 2004, 2005, and 2007.