The *Detroit Tigers’ are a professional baseball team based in Detroit, Michigan. They are a member of the Central Division of the American League. *Stadium’The Tigers have played at Comerica Park since 2000.

From 1896 to 1912, they had played at Bennett Park, and from 1912 to 1999, they had played at Tiger Stadium, which was built on the same location.

NicknameThere are various stories about how the Tigers came to be named. One story says it was because of the the orange stripes they wore on their black stockings. Another story says a sportswriter compared the 1901 team’s opening day victory with the ferocity of his alma mater, the Princeton Tigers. Or, the name originated from the Detroit Light Guard military unit, who were known as “The Tigers”. The earliest known use of the name “Tigers” in the media was in the Detroit Free Press on April 16, 1895. Upon entry into the major (as opposed to the Western League), the team asked for and received permission from the Light Guard to use its trademark and from that day forth they officially became known as the Tigers.

Country United States United States
City Detroit, Michigan
Founded 1894
Ground Comerica Park
Nickname Tigers, Tiges, Bengals
Coach AJ Hinch

HistoryThe Detroit Tigers are one of the American League’s original eight charter franchises, founded in Detroit in 1894. (Of these eight charter franchises, only four clubs remain in their founding city - the Tigers, the Red Sox, the White Sox and the Cleveland Indians.)

The Tigers played their first game as a major league team at home against the Milwaukee Brewers on April 25, 1901, with 10,000 fans at Bennett Park.

*Record By Decade1901-1909The Tigers started out the century by going with 4 winning and 5 losing seasons in the decade. Their losing seasons came in the early part of the decade, the winning seasons during the latter half.1910-1919In this decade, the Tigers had seven winning and three losing seasons. Their losing seasons were in 1912 and 1913, and in 1918.1920-19291920 and 1921 were losing seasons, as were 1928 and 1929. In between, the Tigers posted six winning seasons in a row.1930-1939The Tigers started out with two losing seasons, then posted eight straight winning seasons. Their best record was in 1934, when they went 101-53.1940-19491941 and 1942 were losing seasons for the Tigers. Every other season was on the winning side, albeit a couple of times by only a couple of games.1950-19591951-1954 were losing seasons for the Tigers, as was 1959.1960-19691960 and 1963 were losing seasons. In 1968 they had a tremendous season, going 103-59.1970-19791974-1977 were not good seasons for the Tigers, in particular 1975, when they lost 102 games.1980-1989In the 1980s, with Sparky Anderson at the helm, the Tigers had winning seasons in all years except 1989.1990-1999The 90s were not a good decade for the Tigers, even with Sparky Anderson at the helm, and he was let go in 1995, replaced by Buddy Bell, who did no better. In 1996 under Buddy Bell, they lost 106 games.*2000-2008’Managers Phil Garner and Alan Trammel were unable to bring the team winning seasons during their tenures. Jim Leyland took over in 2006 and ushered in 2 winning seasons. 2008 looks like it will be a losing season.