The *Cleveland Indians‘are a professional baseball team based in Cleveland, Ohiotes. They play in the Central Division of the American League. *Stadium’The Indians have played in Progressive Field (formerly called Jacobs Field) since 1994.

They played in Cleveland Stadium from 1932 to 1993 (called Cleveland Municipal Stadium from 1932 to 1974), and in League Park from 1901 to 1946. (From 1916 to 1927, League Park was called Dunn Field.)

Country United States United States
City Cleveland, Ohio
Founded 1900
Ground Progressive Field
Nickname Indians, Tribe, Wahoos
Coach Terry Francona
Major League Baseball
American League

NicknameAfter the 1914 season, the club owner wanted a new name for the team. In a response to the Boston Braves of the time (now the Atlanta Braves) the media chose the Indians. They are nicknamed “the Tribe” and “the Wahoos - in reference to the mascot which appears on the team’s logos, Chief Wahoo.

HistoryThe Cleveland Indians are one of the American League’s eight charter franchises, founded in Cleveland in 1901. The team actually began play in 1900, before the American League was created. At that point they were called the Cleveland Blues.

ControversyAs with the Atlanta Braves, the club nickname and its cartoon logo have been criticized for perpetuating Native American stereotypes.

Team Roster

Name Position
Rafael Betancourt Venezuela pitcher
Paul Byrd United States pitcher
Asdrubal Cabrera Venezuela second base
Fausto Carmona Dominican Republic pitcher
Jamey Carroll United States second base
Shin-Soo Choo South Korea second base
Salvatore Fasano United States catcher
Ben Francisco United States left field
Ryan Garko United States first base
Matt Ginter United States pitcher