St Louis Cardinals

Sport Baseball
Country United States United States
Home town St Louis
Founding year 1882
Leagues Major League Baseball,
National League

The *St. Louis Cardinals’ are a professional baseball team located in St. Louis, Missouri. They are members of the Central Division of the National League. *Stadium’The Cardinals began play in the current Busch Stadium in 2006, becoming the first team since 1923 to win the World Series in their first season in a new ballpark.

They began their career playing at Sportsman’s Park from 1882-1892, then Robison Field from 1893-1920. They moved into a new Sportsman’s Park (also called Busch Stadium) and played there from 1920-1966. In 1967, they moved to a new Busch Stadium, and played there until 2005.

NicknameThe Cardinals, also referred to as “the Cards” or “the Redbirds”, are named after the bird that is the state bird of Missouri.

HistoryThe Cardinals were founded in the American Association in 1882 as the St. Louis Brown Stockings. This was the name of an earlier National League team.

They joined the National League in 1892 and have been known as the Cardinals since 1900. They are the oldest current professional sports franchise west of the Mississippi.

*Record By Decade1900-1909Patsy Tebeau had coached the Brown Stockings, and when th ey changed their name to the Cardinals he coached for half a year, and Louie Heilbroner for the rest of the season. Patsy Donovan then took over, and coached until 1903. In 1904, Kid Nichols took over for two seasons. From 1906 to 1908, John McCloskey coached, with no winning seasons. Roger Bresnahan coached in 1909.1910-1919Roger Bresnahan coached until 1912, and was replaced by Miller Huggins. Jack Hendricks became coach for a single season, 1918. Branch Rickey then took over in 1919.1920-1929Branch Rickey continued to coach the Cardinals until midway through 1925, when Rogers Hornsby took over the task. Hornsby coached for an addition year before giving way to Bob O’Farrell in 1927. 1928 saw Bill McKechnie given a chance. 1929 saw three coaches, Billy Southworth, Gabby Street, and finally Bill McKechnie. 1930-1939Gabby Street coached from 1930 to 1933. In 1931, the team won over a hundred games and the World Series. Frankie Frisch, who had taken over as coach halfway through 1933, won the World Series in 1934, and continued to coach until halfway through the 1938 season, when he was replaced by Mike Gonzales. In 1930, the coach was Ray Blades. 1940-19491940 was another year of three coaches, with Ray Blades, Mike Gonzalez, and Billy Southworth each getting a chance. In 1941, Billy Southworth took the reins and lasted until the end of the 1945 season. He had winning seasons during his tenure, and then was replaced by Eddie Dyer, who coached until the end of the decade, also with winning seasons.1950-1959Eddie Dyer’s final season, another one with his team over .500, was in 1950. Then, Marty Marion took over for a year. Eddie Stanky came in and coached until 1955. From 1958 to 1958, it was Fred Hutchinson. Solly Hemus coached in 1959. 1960-1969Solly Hemus had two winning seasons in this decade, before being replaced by Johnny Keane who coached for three years, winning the World Series in his final season, 1964. Red Schoendienst took over in 1965 and coached out the rest of the decade. His team won the World Series in 1967.1970-1979Red Schoendienst continued to coach until 1976. Vern Rapp took over in 1977, and coached for two years. In 1979, Ken Boyer took over.1980-19891980 was a year of four coaches: Ken Boyer, Jack Krol, Whitey Herzog, and Red Schoendienst. Whitey Herzog took over in 1981 and coached out the rest of the decade. They won the World Series in 1982. 1990-19991990 was a year of three coaches: Whitey Herzog, Red Schoendienst, and Joe Torre. Joe Torre assumed the reins for good in 1991 until 1995. Then Tony LaRussa took over, and coached out the rest of the decade. *2000-2008’Tony LaRussa continued to coach throughout the 2000s. They won the World Series in 2006.

Show more less

Latest Articles

Baseball article sidebar

Rally Bear Dances Dodgers to Success

One of only four teams lacking an official mascot, the Los Angeles Dodgers and fans were treated to a rare appearance by an illegal rally bear during Monday night’s game against the St Louis Cardinals. The bear, which appeared above the Cardinal dugout, danced for about a minute before being escorted out by LA security.The bear’s presence appeared ... Continue reading

Giants To Face Detroit In World Series

Giants To Face Detroit In World Series

San Francisco Giants will face Detroit Tigers in the World Series after thrashing reigning premiers St Louis Cardinals 9-0 in the deciding playoff in California on Monday.The Giants had been down 3-1 in the best-of-seven series, but fought back to win the final three matches to book their spot in the World Series against American League winners Det... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Karima Hello Mijonju bought, I only have a Lomo LCA with a radonm eBay seller. He claimed that works the LCA, but if I get it everything will be fine, but I also notice when the lever is working fine and the shutter works well, but I notice the shutter will not open when the shutter button is pressed, and I see a band with some of the LCA into the camera. I suspect that some of the key to the problem could be .. Can u help me? with a tutorial vid? tq ~ ~VA:F [1.9.17_1161]please wait...VA:F [1.9.17_1161](from 0 votes)

    almost 7 years ago

Baseball article sidebar

St Louis Cardinals Celebrate World Series Success

St Louis Cardinals defeated Texas Rangers 6-2 to clinch the Major League Baseball World Series on Saturday, their 11th title, which set off huge celebrations on Sunday and Monday.The Cardinals had trailed in the seven-game series 3-2, before hitting back by winning the final two matches to clinch the crown.Chris Carpenter was the star of game seven... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Libby Your channel is the shit manYou shloud take over this fat ass Mike Francesa here on the YES Network in NYCYou actually have a personality that makes us enjoy your videos unlike FrancesaIf u dont know who that fat fuck is search him and youll see for yourself that hes a miserable fuck who rips and doesnt appreciate his fansKeep up the great work!

    over 7 years ago

Baseball article sidebar

Top 10 Home Runs in Playoff History

They have set the stadium alight and silenced more than a few home fans – home runs have always been special Continue reading

  1. TJ

    TJ I agree 100% on every one of these! Good article.

    about 9 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post