Milwaukee Brewers

Country United States United States
City Milwaukee
Founded 1969
Ground American Family Field
Nickname Brewers, Brew Crew, Beermakers
Coach Craig Counsell
Major League Baseball
National League

The *Milwaukee Brewers’ are a Major League Baseball team located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. They play in the Central Division of the National League.StadiumThe Brewers play their home games at Miller Park (American Family Field), which opened in 2001. They had played at Sick’s Stadium in 1969 (when the team was based in Seattle), and at County Stadium from 1970–2000.NicknameMilwaukee is known for its association with the brewing industry, so it’s only natural that their team took that name.*History’The team originated in Seattle, Washington, as the Seattle Pilots. They played for one season, 1969, before moving to Milwaukee and changing their name to the Brewers.

The Brewers were part of the American League from their creation as an expansion club in 1969 through the 1997 season, after which they moved to the National League Central Division.

In 1982, the team captured its only major league titles. They won the American League East Division title and the American League Pennant, earning the team its only World Series appearance. In the Series, they lost to the St. Louis Cardinals, four games to three.

*Record By Decade1970-1979Dave Bristol coached the team for the first three years of the decade, in which they posted losing seasons. Del Crandall then took over, for three more losing seasons. Alex Grammas was given two years to turn the team around before he was let go, and then George Bamberger took over and closed out the decade with two winning seasons.1980-1989Bamberger was replaced in 1980 by Buck Rodgers, who coached until 1982. Despite a winning season, Rodgers was replaced halfway through by Harvey Kuenn, who coached for another season before being replaced by Rene Lachmann for a single season. Lachmann was then replaced by Bamberger, who coached the team for two years. Tom Trebelhorn closed out the decade with three winning seasons. 1990-1999Trebelhorn continued to coach until 1991. He was replaced in 1992 by Phil Garner, who coached the Brewers for the rest of the decade, despite the fact that after 1992, the Brewers had no winning seasons.*2000-2008’Davey Lopes took over in 2000 and had three years to right the ship, but failed. The team lost over a hundred games in 2002, the first time that had happened in the team’s history.

Ned Yost took over in 2003. The Brewers posted winning records in 2007 and 2008. However, Yost was fired with about five games remaining in the 2008 season (9/15/2008), after his team lost four straight games to the Phillies. Dale Sveum, third-base coach, was named interim coach.

Bet Play-Money for Fun