The *Cincinnati Reds’ are a Major League Baseball team located in Cincinnati, Ohio. They are members of the Central Division of the National League.StadiumSince 2003, the Reds have played their home games at Great American Ball Park, a baseball-only facility built next door to their previous home, Cinergy Field, which has since been demolished.*History’The franchise began in 1882 as a charter member of the now-defunct 19th Century major league – the American Association. The name “Reds” was inspired by a previous, unrelated club called the Cincinnati Red Stockings, recognized as the first professional baseball team.

The current Reds joined the National League in 1890, after spending its first eight years in the Association.

*Record By Decade1890-1899Tom Loftus coached the Reds for the first two years that they were in the National League. After two winning seasons, he was replaced by Charles Comiskey, who coached until 1894, when he was replaced by Buck Ewing, who coached for the rest of the decade. 1900-1909Bob Allen coached for a single year, 1900. Then, Bid McPhee got his chance for a year and a bit, then was replaced by Frank Bancroft and Joe Kelley. Kelley kept the job until 1905. Then, Ned Hanlon coached for two years, followed by John Ganzel in 1908 and Clark Griffith in 1909.1910-1919Clark Griffith’s final year was in 1911, then he was replaced by Hank O’Day. Joe Tinker was given his chance in 1913. Then, Buck Herzog had three losing seasons,and was replaced by Christy Mathewson for two years. Pat Moran finished out the decade and won a World Series in the same year.1920-1929Pat Moran continued to coach until 1923, when he was replaced by Jack Hendricks for the rest of the decade. Hendricks had losing seasons in 1927 and 1929.1930-1939Dan Howley took over the reins in 1930, and coached for three years in which the team couldn’t even reach the .400 mark in wins. He was replaced by Donie Bush. In 1934, three coaches got their chance, and the last one, Chuck Dressen, continued for 1935 through 1938. Bill McKechnie took over in 1938, and won the National league pennant in 1939.1940-1949McKechnie continued to coach until 1946, but never repeated the success of 1940, when the Reds won the World Series. Johnny Neun took over for two losing seasons, 1947 and 1948, then Bucky Walters and then Luke Sewell got a chance in 1949. 1950-1959Luke Sewell continued to coach for three losing seasons in to the 1950s, and then was replaced by Rogers Hornsby for half a year, who was then replaced by Buster Mills. Mills gave way to Birdie Tebbetts in 1954, and he continued to coach until 1958. In 1959, Mayo Smith and then Fred Hutchinson coached the team.1960-1969Hutchinson continued to coach the Reds until 1964. Only 1960 was a losing season for him, and in 1961 they won the National League pennant. Dick Sisler took over and had a successful 1965, but was replaced anyway by Don Heffner in 1966, who was succeeded in the same year by Dave Bristol. Bristol served out the rest of the decade. 1970-1979Sparky Anderson took over the Reds in 1970, and coached for 9 years. His only losing season was in 1971. In 1975 and 1976, the Reds won the World Series. John McNamara took over as coach in 1979, and the team won the division that year.1980-1989McNamara continued to coach until 1982. 1982 was a disasterous year, and he was replaced midseason with Russ Nixon, who only lasted another year himself. In 1984 Vern Rapp had half a season to turn things around, failed, and gave way to player-manager Pete Rose. Rose coached til the end of the decade. In both 1988 and 1989 he was assisted by Tommy Helms.1990-1999In 1990, with Lou Piniella at the helm, the Reds won the World Series again. Piniella coached for two more years, then gave way to Tony Perez…who gave way midway through to Davey Johnson. After Johnson’s two year tenure, Ray Knight succeeded him for a year and a half,and then was replaced by Jack McKeon who served out the rest of the decade.*2000-2008’Jack McKeon’s last year with the Reds was 2000. He was succeeded by Bob Boone, who coached for two and a half years. In 2003, Boone was replaced partway through the season by Ray Knight, who was in turn replaced by Dave Miley. Miley would end up coaching for two and a half years. Jerry Narron took over in 2006 and 2007, to losing seasons, and then Dusty Baker took over in 2008, another losing season.

Country United States United States
City Cincinatti
Founded 1882