The *Philadelphia Phillies’ are a Major League Baseball team located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They are a member of the Eastern Division of the National League. *Stadium’From 2004 to the present, the Phillies have played their home games at Citizens Bank Park in the South Philadelphia section of the city.

They first played at Recreation Park, from 1883 to 1886. From 1887 to 1938 they played at the Baker Bowl, also known a the Philadelphia Base Ball Grounds, except for one year, 1927, when they played at connie Mack Stadium. From 1938 to 1970 they once again played at Connie Mack Stadium.

In 1971, they moved to Veterans Stadium, and remained there until their move in 2004.

HistoryThe Philliea are tied with the San Francisco Giants as the fifth-oldest team in Major League Baseball.

They have won one World Series championship (against Kansas City in 1980) and five National League pennants in their history. Because of the age of the team, they have lost the most games of any team in the history of organized sports.

Country United States United States
City Philadelphia
Founded 1883

NicknameThe team was founded in 1883 as the “Quakers.” They changed their name the next year to the “Philadelphians”, and that eventually was shortened to the “Phillies.” “Quakers” continued to be used interchangeably with “Phillies” until 1890, when the team officially became known as the “Phillies.”

The Phillies would win their first pennant in 1915, thanks to the pitching of Grover Cleveland Alexander and the batting of Gavvy Cravath. However, poor choices in later years as regard fiscal management, and players, doomed the Phillies; from 1918 to 1948 they only had one winning season. Though Chuck Klein won the MVP in 1932 and the National League Triple Crown in 1933, the team never managed to rise above the bottom of the standings for years.

*Record By Decade1884-1889The Quakers had had a lousy year in 1883, with a .173 winning percentage. In 1884, with the name change came a new coach, Harry Wright. He would coach the tean to the end of the decade, and have winning seasons in all but the last year.1890-1899Wright continued to coach the Phillies until 1893, when he was replaced by Arthur Irwin who coached for two winning years. He was replaced, nevertheless, by Billy Nash for a year. George Stallings took over in 1897 and halfway through 1898, was replaced by Bill Shettsline who coached the rest of the decade.1900-1909Bill Shettsline continued to coach the Phillies until 1902. Chief Zimmer took over for a single year, and then was replaced by Hugh Duffy who lasted for three years. Billy Murray then came on board and had two winning seasons, but saw a losing season in 1909.1910-1919Red Dooin coached the team until 1915, and then was replaced by Pat Moran who lasted until 1918. Jack Coombs took over in 1919, but was replaced midway through the season by fromer Phillies player, Gavvy Cravath.1920-1929Gavvy Cravath coached in 1920, then was replaced by Bill Donovan for a half season, before he was replaced by Kaiser Wilhelm (the nickname of ex-pitcher Irvin Key Wilhelm). Wilhelms’ season and a half were unsuccessful, and Art Fletcher took over from 1923 to 1926. In 1927, it was Stuffy McInnis’ turn. He lasted only the year, and then was replaced by Burt Shotton.1930-1939Burt Shotton continued to coach until 1933, then he was replaced by Jimmie Wilson, who coached for five sub-.500 years. Doc Prothro took over in 1939.1940-1949Doc Prothro continued to coach until 1941. Hans Lobert took over for a year, then Bucky Harris got a chacne for half a season, before being replaced by Freddie Fitzsimmons. Fitzsimmons coached until 1945, before being replaced by Ben Chapman. Chapman coached until 1948. In 1949, Eddie Sawyer got his chance. 1950-1959Eddie Sawyer coached until 1952. Steve O’Neill coached for two seasons. Mayo Smith then coached until 1958. In 1959, Eddie Sawyer got his chance.1960-1969Sawyer started 1960 as coach of the Phillies, then was replaced by Andy Cohen and then Gene Mauch in the same year. Mauch coached until 1968. In 1969, Bob Skinner and George Myatt shared coaching duties.1970-1979Frank Lucchesi cocahed for three successful years, and then he was replaced by Danny Ozark for the rest of the decade. From 1975 to 1979, he had winning seasons. In 1979, halfway through the season, he was replaced by Dallas Green.1980-1989Dallas Green continued to coach until 1981, when he was replaced by Pat Corrales for two years. Paul Owens coached for a single season, 1984. John Felske coached until 1987. Lee Elia and John Vukovich shared duties in 1988. Nick Leyva took over for 1989.1990-1999Nick Leyva coached until 1991, then was replaced by Jim Fregosi who coached until 1996. Terry Francona then took over, and coached until the end of the decade. He had no winning seasons.*2000-2008’After another losing season, Francona was let go after the 2000 season. Larry Bowa was brought in for four years, and then Charlie Manuel took over and continues to coach to date. (Charlie Manuel is not related to Jerry Manuel, coach of the New York Mets.)