The *Miami Marlins’ are a professional baseball team located in Miami, Florida. They are a member of the Eastern Division of Major League Baseball’s National League. StadiumThe Marlins play their home games at Dolphin Stadium, which also home to the Miami Dolphins.NicknameSport fishing is big in Florida, and the Marlin is the “king” of the sport fish. The team is casually nicknamed “The Fish”.*History’The Marlins, an expansion team formed in 1993 (along with the Colorado Rockies) have won the World Series twice - in 1997 and 2003. Each time, they won despite not winning first place in their division, advancing to the playoffs both times as the National League Wild Card winner.

In recent years, the Marlins ownership has pushed for a new stadium and recently agreed to a plan with Miami-Dade commissioners and the city of Miami to build a $515 million ballpark on the site of the legendary Miami Orange Bowl. As part of the deal, the Marlins in the future will be known as the Miami Marlins.

*Record By Decade1993-1999Rene Lachemann coached the Marlins for the first four years of their existence. They never had a winning season, although they were close in 1996 with an 80-82 record. Jim Leyland took over in 1997, the Marlins went 20 games over .500 and won the World Series. Within a day of winning, the Marlins owners got rid of all the high-powered players that had won them the championship, and in 1998, the remnants of Leyland’s club lost 108 games, and he was replaced in 1999 by John Boles, whose team lost 98 games.*2000-2008’Boles continued to coach until 2001 - two losing seasons. Then, Jeff Torborg took over. In his second year, 2003, the team went 20 games over .500 and won the World Series. Torborg was replaced midway through the season by Jack McKeon, who would coach for two more years before being replaced by Joe Girardi for a single season. In 2007, Girardi was replaced by Fredi Gonzalez, who remains as coach of the team.

Country United States United States
City Miami, Florida
Founded 1993