Atlanta Braves

Sport Baseball
Country United States United States
Home town Atlanta, Georgia
Founding year 1871
Leagues Major League Baseball,
National League

The Atlanta Braves are a professional baseball team located in Atlanta, Georgia. They are a member of the Eastern Division of the National League.


From 1997 to the present, the Braves have played in Turner Field.


The “Braves” comes for the term for an Indian warrior, reflecting his courage. They are also called “the Bravos”, and in advertising have been called “America’s Team”, because their games were broadcast nationally on TBS (until the 2008 season), gaining a wide fanbase.


The Braves are of the National League’s two remaining charter franchises (the other being the Chicago Cubs). The team was founded in Boston, Massachusetts in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings (not to be confused with the American League’s Boston Red Sox or the NL Central’s Cincinnati Reds). The team moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 1953 and became the Milwaukee Braves. In 1966, the team moved to Atlanta.

Record By Decade

1966-1969Bobby Bragan coached the 1996 Braves team to an 85-77 record. He was then replaced by Billy Hitchcock, who was replaced mid-season by Ken Silvestri. Lum Harris then took over for the final two years of the decade.

1970-1979Lum Harris coached until 1972, and then was replaced by Eddie Matthews. Clyde King took over midseason 1974, and was himself replaced midseason 1975. Dave Bristol was given a chance for two years, and then Bobby Cox was brought in for his first tenure with the team.

1980-1989Cox continued to coach until 1982. Then Joe Torre coached for three years. His first two years were winning seasons, his final season he posted a record of 80-82, but was nevertheless replaced. Eddie Haas lasted half a season, and Bobby Wine a half season after him. Chuck Tanner coached for three years, withoug a winning season. In his last season, he lost over a hundred games. Russ Nixon then coached in 1989.

1990-1999After 1990, Nixon was replaced by Bobby Cox, who returned for his second stint with the team, and who brought success to the team for the entire decade, winning division championships, National league pennants, and the World Series in 1995.

2000-2008In the 2000s decade, Bobby Cox continues to coach. They were Division champions from 2000-2005, but since then the team has had only one winning season, in 2007.

Show more less

Latest Articles

Baseball article sidebar

How the Philadelphia Phillies Can Improve in 2013

As the 2012 season comes to a close, the Philadelphia Phillies are getting ready to make some crucial decisions about the upcoming season Continue reading

Baseball article sidebar

Top 10 Home Runs in Playoff History

They have set the stadium alight and silenced more than a few home fans – home runs have always been special Continue reading

  1. TJ

    TJ I agree 100% on every one of these! Good article.

    almost 9 years ago

Baseball article sidebar

Top 10 Shocking Moments in Baseball Umpiring

There are some good calls, some bad ones and some that make you wonder about the power of sight! Whether made with pure hearts or simply a result of an erroneous conscience, these 10 calls are possibly the worst ever witnessed in the history of baseball.10. The Pine Tar IncidentIn July, 1983, the Kansas City Royals took on the New York Yankees in a... Continue reading

Baseball article sidebar

MLB lines up for Awards' Night

The MLB awards are already on their way out and the action is shifting towards the bigger and more prestigious awards for the year Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Brian McCann catcher
Gregor Blanco center field
Mark Kotsay center field
Greg Norton first base
Mark Teixeira first base
Blaine Boyer pitcher
Jorge Campillo pitcher
Earl Carlyle pitcher
Michael Gonzalez pitcher
Tim Hudson pitcher
Charles Morton pitcher
William Ohman pitcher
Joseph Reyes pitcher
Royce Ring pitcher
Jeffrey Francoeur right field
Kelly Johnson second base
Martin Prado second base
Brent Lillibridge shortstop
Larry Jones third base

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post